Blueberry Buttermilk Scones

These scones are heavenly. I feel like I’m being transported to a delightful little countryside manor every time I take a bite of one.

Blueberry Buttermilk Scones

This recipe actually came from a superior at work (like several levels up superior) who began an email conversation with me a few weeks ago after she discovered my blog. We’ve been talking about all things baking, home, lifestyle and DIY since then. Again, it never ceases to amaze me who you can get in touch with when you put yourself out there. So after making my “Glazed Baked French Toast” for a weekend up north, she gave me one of her go-to recipes and it sounded so good I had to make it as soon as I got home. I added just a bit to it (the blueberries, cinnamon and allspice, for instance). You can never go wrong with blueberries and cinnamon when it comes to breakfast.

Boy am I grateful she let me in on this one–these scones have lightly golden toasted outsides with a soft yet crumbly interior, coupled with juicy blueberries. And the buttermilk notes really shine through, bringing it all together for a delightfully not-too-sweet flavor. You may be used to scones that are fried up and have a tougher, slightly crispier texture, but these are more similar to biscuits.

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

Alright, let’s do it!

Blueberry Buttermilk Scones

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp salt

A pinch of allspice

A dash of cinnamon

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup butter, room temperature

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen

1 egg + 1 tbs water for the egg wash

Yields 16 scones

Prepare a baking sheet with a non-stick spray and heat the oven to 400º F.

Mix together the flour, sugar, allspice, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large mixing bowl. Add the butter in and mix with a large fork or with your hands to get a crumbly, dry meal-texture.

Next, slowly add the buttermilk and stir just until everything is combined. Add the blueberries and stir softly. This is mainly if you are using fresh berries, as they will burst easily and it’s not quite the same when all of your scones are dyed blue.

Divide the dough into two parts and on a heavily floured surface, roll the dough into about 1 1/2 in thick rounds. Cut each round into eight pieces so they resemble biscuits or cut them into triangular wedges. Transfer them to your baking sheet and lightly spread each scone with the egg wash. I then added a sprinkle of sugar over the top of each one.

Bake for about 15 minutes or until the tops look lightly browned. I suggest enjoying them with a bit of butter and a hot mocha ❤

25 thoughts on “Blueberry Buttermilk Scones

    1. I think strawberries would work great. You could try mixing them in with the dry ingredients (after the butter has been cut in) before you add the buttermilk. This way the strawberries are coated with the powdery dry mixture, and when you gently mix in the buttermilk they wont turn your entire scone red.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So happy you made them and you loved them! My fam prefers the bigger chunks of strawberries but they be cut any way. I gently mix them in after the buttermilk and for the most part, the berries stay in tact. A bit of berry red does color the scones in a few places which I find quite pretty. 🙂 Definitely have to try Sugar Tin’s tip about the strawberries though. I do something similar with chocolate chips in cookies. It helps them incorporate better and not fall to the bottom of the batter.

    Baked challah french toast a la Aylssa is currently in the oven. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment