Why I Love the Morning

I don’t fit the typical definition of a “morning” person. I (usually) hate getting up early, I sleep in late most of the time and I can’t function until I’ve gone through all of my morning phases and have had a good breakfast. Yet, I love morning. The air is clearer, fresher, and there is a feeling of tranquility that no other time of day can truly bring. And sunrise is one of the most gorgeous phenomenons I think we ever get to see.

Morning Sunflower

It seems strange that while I’m always told, “Alyssa, you are not a morning person,” it’s a time of day I still hold so dear. The thing is, I just need the time to really come into my own in the mornings–to actually wake up, ease into the day, and fully soak up every aspect of it. I’m not a quick, grab-and-go kind of person. I’m slow. I like to enjoy things fully. That’s why waking up early, popping out of bed and heading out the door is almost a complete nonoccurrence for me.

But sitting here out on my balcony just after sunrise, I feel at peace, happy and refreshed. My world is undisturbed. It only exists of the spell of the morning, the trees, and the three or four hummingbirds that catch my attention for the next half hour.

Morning Coffee

On those rare occasions when I choose to get out of bed very early (this morning because of sore muscles and a stomach ache), I make sure to enjoy the magic of morning. There is a sweetness to the air, a crisp coolness that feels revitalizing. You’re more in tune with the world in the early morning–with nature, I think. Especially on a  Sunday morning, not everyone has quite begun their day yet. Instead of the rumble of cars and shouting of voices, I hear the chirping of birds, and the sound of rustling wind. I notice the vibrance of green on the leaves and I take the time to look up at the clouds in the sky, like dense, puffy marshmallows hanging on invisible strings. In these simple moments, I cannot help but become shrouded in nature’s spell.

Above all else, stopping to see and feel the true beauty of a quiet morning, a foggy mountaintop or a trickling stream, can bring such warmth and goodness to our souls. Whatever it may be that brings you peace and calm–whatever it is that makes you feel refreshed, embrace that thing. Don’t neglect, but rather, take care of yourself and feel peace.

11 thoughts on “Why I Love the Morning

  1. I agree with you. I don’t voluntarily wake up early, but when I am forced to, I really enjoy the peaceful morning time. I sometimes try to get up early to enjoy the morning, but I usually just roll over and snooze until I have to get up lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way! But I think I could be convinced to become a morning person if there was a hot cup of coffee waiting for me within reach of the bed as soon as my alarm went off. …now that I think about it, I’m sure someone has already invented this and now I know what I’m doing with the rest of my day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

