Liebster Award (Again!)

liebster award

I was really happy when I saw that Olga at olgaalexandra.wordpress.com nominated me for the Liebster Award. Fun fact: My computer keeps trying to autocorrect it to “Lobster.” Maybe I should start a Lobster Award.

Visit Olga’s blog for all things travel, shopping and food-related.  This is my second time being nominated, and it’s just so fun to see what kinds of questions and answers people come up with.

The Rules:

Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
Copy and paste the Liebster Award badge to your post.
Nominate 10 new bloggers.
Answer the 10 questions from the person who nominated you.
Create 10 new questions for the bloggers you nominate.
Notify the bloggers by leaving them a comment on their site.

1. If you had to pack your bags to travel somewhere without fear of cost or other obligations where would you go?

I’m fairly certain I’ve said it many times on this blog, but my biggest dream in life is to travel the world. Right now, I’ve been obsessed with reading about Nysha’s adventures in China on her blog Soymilk on a Sunday. So I’m very much in the mood to see China, Japan, and essentially as much of Asia as possible.

2. What is one thing you can’t live without?

I was thinking the other day that if I had to pick just one thing to do every day for the rest of my life, it would be reading books and drinking tea. So, books and tea (I guess that’s two things). There will always be different stories to jump into and new things to learn, and well, tea is just delicious and good for you.

3. What is your favorite animal?

I love foxes. For one thing, there are a lot of stories and folklore surrounding them, which I think adds a kind of mysterious allure to them. In Japanese mythology, foxes are often regarded as intelligent and wise, possessing magical abilities. Also, they’re so cute.

4. Have you read a good book lately?

I’m on a “25 books in 2016” sprint, so I just finished reading The Taliban Shuffle by Kim Barker. The autobiographical story tells of the author’s experiences as a reporter in Afghanistan and Pakistan in the early to mid-2000s. It was fantastically eye-opening, informative, heartwarming and hilarious at times.

Currently, I’m finally reading Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. As a huge Hayao Miyazaki fan, I’ve watched the film a million times, but never picked up the book. Having gotten half way through it, I can say the book is just as delightful as its visual counterpart.

5. What inspires you?

Unbridled imagination. I miss how unhinged my mind was as a child. Believing in magic and seeing odd or extraordinary things within ordinary circumstances is something I am trying to spark again in my life. The catch is, overthinking one’s life, responsibilities and desires is what I believe saps our child-like imagination in the first place. I try to remedy this by diving into stories and letting my mind wander free. Literally anything can be inspiration.

6. Did you go to University, if so where and what did you major in?

I went to the University of Arizona, and it was the absolute best time of my life. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without those amazing experiences. I majored in journalism and creative writing.

7. What do you like to do in your free time?

I like to read, spend time outside, bake, draw and watch cartoons. Lately, my fiancĂ© has been teaching me a lot about woodworking and we’ve been working on several projects together, so that has been really fun as well!

8. What is your pump up music?

Usually some good alternative rock with a heavier beat and decently fast tempo. Either that or, like, Backstreet Boys.

9. What is your favorite color?

To wear: black. For pretty much everything else: teal and coral.

10. Do you have any goals for your blog?

The current short term goal is to get to 1000 followers and up my game with the quality of my content, with an even sharper focus on breakfast recipes.

Nominations:

Spice Tripping

Soymilk on a Sunday

The Lemon and Jar

Babies and Barnacles

Molly’s Morsels

Aniters

All Things Mixed Girl

Life in Lipstick

Palatable Adventures

Flour & Spice

My Questions:

1. What was your house(s) like as a kid?

2. What is the oldest memory you can recall?

3. If you had to change into one animal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

4. If you could live out a classic folk story (e.g. Jack and the Beanstalk, Aladdin, King Arthur), what would it be?

5. If you had to eat just one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?

6. Are there any foods you just cannot stand?

7. Where did the inspiration for your blog come from?

8. What is bound to cheer you up no matter what’s going on?

9. If you could travel back in time to any period in history, when would you go? *teehee*

10. Robots or pirates…or ninjas?

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award (Again!)

  1. Alyssa!! You are so lovely, thank you for this nomination and I am so honored to be mentioned *tears of joy*!!
    I hope you do get a chance to travel to Asia sometime in the near future!

    And wow! I’ve really enjoyed Howl’s Moving Castle (the movie) but have never considered reading the book, that should be on my to-do list!

    PS, you should start a Lobster Award 😉 !
    I’m so excited to answer the questions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

